Wednesday, June 10, 2015

Gettin' quirky

Exploding in Sound supergroup! Speedy Ortiz's Devin McKnight and Ovlov's Theo Hartlett got together and formed Philadelphia Collins. They did the Battles thing and threw an array of vocalists on their upcoming debut. The first single off the album features Palehound's Ellen Kempner. It's nothing short of a perfect match, she and they, and McKnight's guitar efforts nearly go into Ash Bowie territory on this one. Derp Swervin' features a cover art design with really terrible font choices, but it'll be great, and it'll be available here, and it comes out July 21 (July 24 on limited-edition cassette).

Speaking of wacky -- here's a proggy-ass new track from Goblin Rebirth! Their self-titled album comes out June 29 and their current lineup features drummer Agostino Marangolo and bassist Fabio Pignatelli, from the original Goblin lineup.

No comments: