Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Dreaming of the northeast

Edmonton's Faith Healer has a debut album, Cosmic Troubles, coming out on March 31 on Mint Records, and the songs released thus far are at once spacey, detached, dreamy, inspired by the mods and '60s France.







Also [finally!] putting forth a proper debut is Marika Hackman, whose We Slept at Last is now set for a Feb. 16 release, and whose one-off singles have been featured on Choir Croak Out Them Goodies since 2012. It's about time. The record is incredibly serious and incredibly beautiful; "Before I Sleep" has a similar feel to "Bashed Out," the new single by fellow British folk act This is the Kit, "Claude's Girl" has the tone of an eastern European waltz, and the entirety of We Slept, particularly "Skin," feels like the motion of the night sea. This will be one of the best records of the year.







The Mary Onettes have finally made it down to the U.S. after a couple of failed tours! The Swedes have a brand new track adorned with the loveliest sort of dissonance, and it essentially resembles a hybrid of the '80s new romantic movement and early Ariel Pink. They've evolved just enough over the last few years.



Starting with tonight:

Feb 10 (Tuesday) - Boston @ Great Scott
Feb 11 (Wednesday) - Philadelphia @ Johnny Brendas
Feb 12 (Thursday) - NYC @ Cameo Gallery
Feb 13 (Friday) - DC @ House of Sweden
Feb 14 (Saturday) - Chicago @ Empty Bottle (2H)
Feb 18 (Wednesday) - Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Feb 20 (Friday) - San Francisco @ Rickshaw Stop
Feb 21 (Saturday) - Los Angeles @ Bootleg Bar
Feb 22 (Sunday) - San Diego @ Soda Bar
Feb 23 (Monday) - Phoenix @ Pub Rock

No comments: